Menu Close

best hot dog buns 2019

I'm a gluten free recipe developer and author of The Gluten Free Quick Breads Cookbook. The dough looked, smelled, and felt amazing. Place the dough to rise in a warm spot (I like mine to rise on top of my preheated oven) and cover loosely with plastic wrap or a clean kitchen towel. Place the roll on the floured surface and gently and evenly roll into a log 5 1/2 inches long and about 1 inch wide (. Homemade hot dog buns aren’t exactly a common baking project, but if you’re looking for buns that taste like fresh-made white bread, then Franz is your best pick.

For this recipe, using a kitchen scale to measure the flours will give you the best results. Line a baking sheet with a silicone mat or parchment paper and set aside.

It’s the best way, IMO. Place back into the bowl, cover with plastic, and stand in a warm space until dough has doubled in size. If you have a yeast sensitivity, you can try subbing the yeast with 1 1/8 teaspoons baking soda + 1 1/8 teaspoons white vinegar. Let rolls rise for 1 hour. As an Amazon Associate and member of other affiliate programs, I earn from qualifying purchases. Place the rolls 1/4 inch apart in a line so when they rise, they will be touching. After baking, brush with 1 more tablespoon of melted butter and cool on the pan for 10 minutes. New England Split-top Frankfurter Hot Dog Bun or Lobster Rolls - Pack of 6, 12 or 24 count. Since they’ve had success turning that recipe into hamburger buns, I can say fairly certainly that this recipe will also work since the recipe is essentially the same, it just makes a bit more dough.

The dinner roll recipe made a smaller amount of dough, which wouldn’t have been enough to make 8 hot dog buns. 1/4 cup sorghum flour. Mine bake in 18 minutes. Add dried fruit and the remaining sifted flour.